Skip to content

Chicks Dig Scars

September 19, 2010

Ok, so most chicks could care less about scars. But if they did, they would dig my jack plane. This morning I woke up and decided I would go ahead and get my sharpening out of the way. I immediately noticed these big scratches on the bottom of the sole. I looked over the board that I had been working on but I could not find any pieces of metal or nails. Whatever caused the damage barely nicked the blade at all. I guess I will never know.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 26, 2010 7:28 pm

    How frustrating!

    Sometimes, there can be bits of ‘grit’ the surface of sawn timber, particularly if the ends were painted while it was drying.

    But I’ve also found that pine with lots of knots can have a similar effect on the knives in your planer! 😛

    Olly.

  2. Walnut Weasel permalink
    September 26, 2010 9:09 pm

    There was a really hard knot on that side of the board that I was working on that day. There was also a very small nick in the blade. I was wondering if the small piece of the blade broke off when planing also scratched the sole.

Trackbacks

  1. Woodworking In America « The Walnut Weasel

Leave a Reply

