Skip to content

Preparing For The Mortises

September 26, 2010

With the top width now reaching 13″, I need to begin planning where the mortises will be cut. I plan to cheat the system a bit by cutting the mortises into individual laminated boards. This way I will be able to saw the mortises and then chop out the waste. You can see something similar to what I am talking about at the Popular Woodworking blog. So this morning I thought it would be a good idea to flatten out what I have glued up so far. This is another time when having a scrub plane turns an impossible manual task into a lot of fun! I did not get time to get the surface smoothed out, but I did manage to get it roughly flattened out. The scrub plane makes the surface look like a beaver with an attitude took his frustrations out on it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2010 9:42 pm

    Hi,
    I was a bit surprised by the way you arranged the planks. For example, when looking at the four leftmost planks of the glue up, it seems that the grain of each board if going in the same direction instead of being alternated (as I was expecting). Given that the picture is from last September, did you experience any significant movement in the work top ? Cheers

    • December 23, 2010 12:12 am

      No significant movement yet and we have had a pretty drastic shift in humidity too. I am sure sooner or later a crack may appear but if it does I will just epoxy it up and move on. I am sure it helped that the lumber was surprisingly dry when I purchased it.

Leave a Reply

