Skip to content

Chisel Home

December 24, 2010
tags: ,

Today I was able to sneak out into the shop to make a home for my Lie-Nielsen chisels. I thought it would be fitting for my chisels to be nested into hand cut dovetails! I did not cut the tails into end grain so it was a piece of cake to pop out the centers after sawing. However the orientation of the grain makes them very weak. If I happen to break one off, I will just dowel it back into place. Notice that there are a few extra spaces. I hope to fill those extra spaces with a couple extra widths of chisels and a few fishtail chisels one day.

Much better than just drilling some holes if you ask me. πŸ˜‰

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 24, 2010 12:43 pm

    Nice idea. It looks great.

    yaakov….

  2. December 30, 2010 2:54 pm

    Well you are ahead of the game. Guess what the practice exercise for dovetails was going to be? Nice work!

    • December 30, 2010 3:46 pm

      I considered this part of my “sawing to a line” exercise for the Hand Tool School. πŸ˜‰

      I feel a bit better about my sawing but I really need to practice with the grain in hard wood. Sawing this soft pine with the early/late rings was a different (but good) experience.

  3. January 28, 2011 8:55 pm

    The use of dovetails for this purpose had not occurred to me … good idea…

Leave a Reply

