Skip to content

Sharpening Bench Complete

January 23, 2011

Well I finally completed my sharpening bench today. A simple trestle design with bridle joints on the feet, mortise and tenon for the arms, through wedged tenons for the lower stretcher and dovetail laps for the two upper stretchers. I definitely had to practice a lot of techniques with this project! I had a few frustrations with the bridle and dovetail joints not fitting as tight as I hoped, but I am very happy how the standard and through wedged mortise and tenons turned out.

The red marble top was a freebie I retrieved from an old and out of fashion side table. There are metal plates epoxied to the bottom where the old metal legs used to attach. I chiseled out pockets in the tops of the legs for those plates to rest into. These pockets also keep the heavy top from sliding around.

I don’t plan on planing or sanding out the tear since this is just a piece of shop furniture. I will likely just give it a quick oil finish once the temperature in the shop gets back up above 60 degrees. I also plan on giving the top a heavy waxing to keep anything from building up in the marble pores.

I need just a bit of storage for a few miscellaneous items like wet/dry sand paper, rags, oil, etc. I was originally planning on putting a drawer under the table top, but I now think I will hang a small cabinet on the wall just over it. This would allow me to hang a light under it so my table top will be nice and bright!

Now I need to get back to working on my nemesis…The Roubo! One of these months (maybe years) I will finish it!!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2011 5:58 pm

    I like the design. I had a similar design in mind for a piece of cast off granite…this gets me really excited to start that work!

    • Walnut Weasel permalink
      January 23, 2011 6:28 pm

      Thanks. I really wish I could have the lower stretcher up a bit higher to improve the looks, but a huge knot prevented it.

  2. January 24, 2011 3:35 pm

    So if you set a granite lapping plate on a granite counter top does it make the blades even flatter?

    • Walnut Weasel permalink
      January 24, 2011 5:57 pm

      It does if the first plate is not flat. 😉

  3. January 25, 2011 10:23 pm

    I also like this design. It allows you to get in close without a leg getting in your way, which must help you to lock your wrists when honing and to concentrate fully on what you are doing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

