Skip to content

Greene and Greene Frame

January 25, 2011

Now that my sharpening table is complete I really need to get back to working on my Roubo bench. But I need a bit of motivation so I decided to make a Greene and Greene inspired picture frame. This should not take too long to build so I can get back to the bench but it will be nice enough to actually bring into the house.

I am going to be roughly following the plans in the December 2010 issue of Popular Woodworking. I said earlier that this is Greene and Greene inspired because I will be using curly quarter sawn white oak and the jury is out regarding if I will put the ebony plugs in or not. This morning I roughed out the pieces on the bandsaw. I hope to find time to get them flat and square by this weekend. I expect that getting this lumber flat without significant tear out will be a challenge and require a lot of sharpening.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2011 10:21 pm

    Procrastination can be a dangerous sin… Last time I left one project to start another, as I returned to that first job, I ended up breaking one of the lap joints, running it through the bandsaw and I haven’t attempted to re-build that magazine rack since!

    But then, it would an unthinkable feat for you to do something as drastic to your workbench!! πŸ˜€

    At least, with an incomplete ‘bench, you can still use it to support and store other stuff. If a delicate piece of furniture is left hanging around, bad things can happen!…

  2. January 25, 2011 10:27 pm

    Sorry – I also wanted to wish you well with that wonderful oak!

    At least now, with your sharpening station complete, you won’t happen any difficulty maintaining the edges on your tools. I doubt you’ll need to sharpen too often with a decent iron. Try not to be too greedy (take finer cuts, after the initial swipes) and it may help to shift the frog forwards and close the gap slightly around the mouth aperture.

    …Well, either that or, get the belt sander out!! 😈

    πŸ˜‰

    • Walnut Weasel permalink
      January 26, 2011 4:51 am

      I have a low angle jack and jointer so I should be able to sharpen a nice high angle if needed…it will still be interesting!

Leave a Reply

