Skip to content

Frame Day 1

January 26, 2011

Well I managed to sneak into the shop long enough today to flatten one face and square one edge of all 4 blanks. I had to mess around with the bevel angle on my bevel up jack plane to reduce the tear out in this curly oak. Normally I use a total cutting angle of 47 degrees. Today I ramped it up to 52 and it did improve it a great deal. This also meant that I was able to christen the sharpening table. πŸ˜‰

It is still impossible to take much more than a smoothing cut without tear out and chipping. I may try 57 degrees next time I need to plane, but as it stands now, I should be able to cut the mortises and loose tenons next. The reason for the loose tenons is because I did not have enough curly oak stock to cut the side rails long enough for the tenons.

Almost there. Just a little tear out left.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 27, 2011 8:27 pm

    Looks like increasing the cutting pitch has worked well. Certainly can’t see any obvious tearout, from where I’m sitting.

    You’ve done well, though… I’ve met many woodworkers who would’ve succumbed to purchasing a brand new, shiny scraper plane when faced with a situation like this!! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

