Skip to content

Frame Day 5

February 17, 2011

Today I managed to get the shaping, sanding, gluing and clamping complete. I think it is starting to look good. The joints on the show side are nice and tight and just a small gap or two on the back side.

I also took out my ammonia fuming test pieces. In the picture below the bottom sample is fresh oak (with a bit of sap wood on the edge) the middle sample was fumed for 12 hrs and the top 24 hrs. It may not show on the camera, but there is a color difference between the 12 and 24 hr sample – but very small. What I have found interesting so far is that the ray flecks have also darkened considerably. It was my understanding that they rays were suppose to stay light. I guess I will see once I can apply the shellac. But not until tomorrow. Right now the wood still stinks like ammonia and needs to air out!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2011 7:49 pm

    It’s really coming together nicely, good work. I am looking forward to seeing how it all looks with the ammonia treatment.

    BTW, you are in the Hand Tool School arn’t you? If so, how is it going for you?

    yaakov….

    • Walnut Weasel permalink*
      February 17, 2011 10:01 pm

      I am looking forward to it too. If I get time this weekend I should be able to start putting shellac on it Sunday.

      And yes, I am a member of the Hand Tool School. (Highly recommended!!) I really enjoy the school but I am way behind on projects for it – mostly because I do not need most of the shop tools that he has built so far. However, I have been practicing most of the techniques. I want to build the saw bench and shop bents, but first I need to get back to work on my Roubo bench and get it finished. Getting this little project complete has been good motivation for me.

  2. February 19, 2011 4:48 pm

    Really like the way that oak’s coming out, particularly the sample that’d been in for twenty-four hours. Your frame is going to look great!

    Strange… I also thought that ammonia was supposed to leave the medullary rays alone?

Leave a Reply

