Skip to content

I’m a sucker!

March 25, 2011

Well I have been suckered into making a baby changing station by my family. I looked around the Internet for some examples and decided I did not really want to make the more traditional style that looks like a dresser/dry sink. So figured out some basic dimensions and sketched out a rough design on paper. I then put it into sketchup and started tweaking the dimensions to get the proportions right. Then this morning I grabbed a sheet of ridged foam insulation and did a rough mock up to verify the dimensions. I am pretty happy with the design. This weekend I hope to go purchase the cherry so that it can start acclimating to the shop. I am considering inlaying a design in the side panels…maybe kids blocks?

This project will keep my feet to the fire. I have to have it complete by late July and considering my full time job and I am a woodworking newbie, this will be a challenge! It also sounds like my son-in-law will be helping out so I will have to teach him along the way.

Looks like the Roubo is getting put on hold again…

20110325-114150.jpg

20110325-114212.jpg

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2011 4:46 pm

    Looking forward to seeing the build process of this one!

  2. March 25, 2011 9:59 pm

    Looking forward to seeing this one. If you can tackle a Roubo (…even if it’s not quite finished yet! ;-)) then, you’re more than capable of producing a baby changing station.

    One word of advice would be to round over all the arrises and leave no sharp corners. It’s great to see that you’ve already taken some time to construct a full-size mock-up.

Leave a Reply

