Skip to content

New Tools

May 15, 2011

It has been awhile since I have made a post, but it has also been awhile since I have managed to get any time in the shop! Hopefully that will change soon.

There have been a few big changes in my shop. Although I enjoy working by hand, it was just too time consuming to mill all the lumber by hand when I also have a full time job. So I took the plunge and spent some serious money on a Jet 12″ combination jointer/planer!!

20110514-115727.jpg

20110514-115744.jpg

So far it is great! Plenty of power and having a 12″ jointer is sooo nice! You may notice there are also some 4″ hoses hooked up to the machine. Those are running to a 650cfm Rikon single stage vacuum. It was only about $50 more than the wall mounted versions sold by Grizzly and Rockler and it came with a 5 micron upper bag. However, as with all single stage vacs, the large shaving that come out of the jointer clog the system quickly. I added a 40 gallon drum with the Rockler dust separator ports between it and now VERY little dust make it all the way to the vacuum. I highly recommend the dust separators – very inexpensive and they work as advertised.

20110515-120559.jpg

I plan to write up a review of all the equipment after I have put some serious hours on them. But so far I am very happy with all of the purchases!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2011 6:47 pm

    Wow! Let us know how they do when it comes to your next project. Looking forward to your review.

    yaakov….

  2. May 16, 2011 10:45 pm

    Nice! that looks to be a beefy machine, keep us posted on how it works out for you.

Leave a Reply

