Skip to content

Roubo Update

May 15, 2011

I have managed to get a bit of work done on my roubo bench build. I now have all of the legs laminated together and all of the standard and dovetailed tenons cut and fit. However in the last month in my area it has been raining non-stop and the Humidity in my shop shot up to over 70% (some days over 80%) so at the moment none of the joints fit! But because I expect the current humidity to be higher than average I am going to wait for it to drop rather than re-fit them. I was hoping to get the legs and stretchers on the bench before beginning the baby changing table build that needs to be complete in August, but life has other and for me. So I guess this project will just have to sit in the corner for the time being!

20110515-121935.jpg

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2011 7:05 pm

    I could not help but notice the mortises on the outside of the right legs. Are you using through tenons? I don’t see the mortises for the end stretchers. Have you finished up the legs?

    Be well,

    yaakov….

    • May 16, 2011 7:28 pm

      Unfortunately the legs are not yet complete. I will be using through tenons for the stretchers that run parallel to the length of the bench. These will be glued and wedged. However the mortises for the short stretchers will not be through tenons and I plan on only gluing them on one side to allow for wood movement across the width of the table.

      I took advantage of the laminating process to create the through mortises for the long stretchers. I will likely chop out the standard mortises for the short stretchers by hand once I can get the legs to feed back into the joints!

Leave a Reply

