Skip to content

Changing Station Day 4

May 29, 2011

Today I worked on several things, but finished nothing. Go figure! I have been working on a back plate to cover the massive hole in the wall behind our thermostat. I chamfered the edges, drilled the needed holes, did a final smoothing with a card scraper, then added an initial two coats of blonde shellac. I should have this finished up late tomorrow I hope.

20110528-110603.jpg

While I had the shellac out, I made a few test pieces for the baby changing table with a couple of off cuts. I had planned on using garnet shellac, but because I am planning on putting an inlay I may just use blonde.

Finally I was able to get all of the mortise and tenons for one of the two baby table frames chopped and fit. It is interesting working by hand using all relative dimensioning. For the frame boards I only flattened one reference face and one reference edge. The widths for every board are currently oversized – along with most of the lengths. However even in this very rough state, the joinery is complete. But wow it looks like Hell. 😉

Once I finished that up, I ran the boards for the second frame through the jointer, marked out all of the joinery, and chopped the mortises for one half of the second frame before calling it a day.

20110528-110851.jpg

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2013 1:02 am

    Hi, I just came by to review this website. It seems to
    be really great and I liked viewing it, thank you very much for the great
    stuff!

  2. February 27, 2013 12:05 pm

    Hello, I just dropped by to read this website. It seems to be really great and I enjoyed viewing it, thank you very much
    for the helpful information!

  3. August 6, 2013 10:41 pm

    Hi, I check your blogs daily. Your story-telling style is awesome,
    keep up the good work!

  4. March 5, 2014 6:04 am

    Great weblog right here! Also your site so much
    up fast! What web host are you the use of? Can I get your associate link for your host?
    I want my web site loaded up as quickly as yours lol

  5. March 7, 2014 6:56 pm

    Ahaa, its fastidious discussion about this piece of writing at this
    place at this webpage, I have read all that, so now me
    also commenting at this place.

Leave a Reply

